wearable sculpture + unique fashion

Video

Craftcation 2013: Indie Business and DIY Conference

Last year, I spoke at, taught a hands-on class at, and danced my booty off (see below) at a conference called Craftcation.

Craftcation is an Indie Business and DIY conference in Ventura, California. What does that mean?? Basically for me, it meant learning a bunch of stuff about how to run a small business, plus some cool hands-on creative workshops. Actually, Craftcation is what pushed me to start blogging (i.e. the thing you’re reading now) and doing more social media stuff. I still have a few things in the works from last year, so stay tuned as they develop! Also, Craftcation is where I met the people who run CRAFTED at the Port of Los Angeles- you know, the place with the Morgan Culture store that sells LAYGS leggings? Yeah, that marketplace gave us tons of swag and, well, now I’m there!

I HIGHLY recommend this event for anyone with a small creative business- even if it’s not crafty. The speakers are from tons of diverse backgrounds in things like SEO, web design, marketing, accounting, journalism (LA Times, people!!), manufacturing, franchising, and so much more. And they’re awesome.

Last year, I taught one business workshop, entitled “Breaking into the Art World”, showing people more on the craft side of art how to enter the fine art world, and one hands-on workshop, entitled “Textile Surface Design”, where I tried to teach WAY too many things at once. I had everything from the basics of screenprinting, block printing, Simply Spray fabric spray paint, and discharge- all in one 1.5 hour block! I was racing for time and barely got to answer questions. Here are some images of me teaching!

339-craftcation-XL 202-craftcation-XL

Morgan Culture teaching screenprinting at Craftcation

Morgan Culture teaching screenprinting at Craftcation

One amazing thing I experienced at last year’s Craftcation was the amount of people who came to my workshops with questions already formed. One woman came from Washington state and brought fabric for me to look at to see if her printing technique was ok. Another woman completely inspired me with her desire to start an art gallery and shelter for underprivileged children in Compton and Inglewood, and she came to me for advice and support.

This year, I’m teaching only one workshop since I’m actually one of the event managers. I’m in charge of all the craft workshops/speakers! Hooray! However, this new role means I’m less able to teach while being accountable for the rest of the workshops. I’ll be teaching a Block Printing demo on Sunday in the very last presenter spot. For more info, go to http://www.craftcationconference.com and search for Morgan Culture under the “presenters” tab. This year, I’ll also have some LAYGS in the pop-up shop available for purchase!

Oh, and did I mention the 80s dance party at Craftcation?? Epic. That’s returning this year.IMG6537-M

If you’re considering attending this amazing conference but the price tag seems a little high, I have some news for you as well. Since I’m in charge of a bunch of volunteers working with me, I pretty much get to choose them. If you volunteer 2 days, you get to attend the other 2 for free. And you’ll be in the workshops the 2 days you volunteer, too! Contact me for details.

Craftcation is March 24-28, 2013.

Craftcation 2012 from Letter Box Films on Vimeo.

5 responses

  1. I have been thinking about attending this event. I expect this is probably really good for artists too… Do many artists attend (besides crafters)?

    February 12, 2013 at 3:42 PM

    • Diana, the crowd is definitely more swayed toward craft, but many artists do attend as well. Last year at my “breaking into the art world” seminar, several fellow fine artists attended to share their experiences and tips and see if I had useful feedback for them.

      Also, I honestly think this would be a great conference for almost any small business. SEO? Artists do that. Getting your work into print media? Artists definitely do that. Networking? Yes. Display? Yes. Financial stuff like taxes? Well, hopefully. Newsletters, budgeting, accounting, pictures of your work, blogging, pricing, overcoming fear and disappointment? YES. And then there are little useful artistic skills you can get a crash course in that might be useful for your work, like printing, sewing, bookbinding, etc. Sometimes just knowing that extra skill can help take your work in a new direction, in my experience.

      So that was a very long and emphatic yes, I think this would be great for any type of artist. Check out the calendar/schedule thing and see if there are any workshops you’d like to see in particular- and they do offer day passes if you can’t make the whole thing.

      February 12, 2013 at 9:52 PM

  2. Pingback: Craftcation 2013: Indie Business and DIY Conference « morganculture | Artfully Self Employed

  3. What a great offer to attend. I’m happy to help for two days. Please email me if you still need help.

    February 22, 2013 at 12:53 PM

    • Hey Julie! Thanks for your offer to help. We’re totally full on volunteers, but registration is still open until March 1!

      February 22, 2013 at 1:12 PM

Leave a Reply

